Having treasured the value and potential of the Greek creative spirit, Prodromos-Bodossakis Athanassiades made provision for distinguished Greek academics to be recognized for their scientific achievements. In 1993, in accordance with its founder’s wishes, the Bodossaki Foundation, established the “Awards for scientific excellence”. Through these awards, the Foundation seeks to support the creative work of young Greek scientists up to 40 years of age; to reward their commitment and effort to excel in their scientific field, as well as their dedication to serve as role models for the younger generations and the Greek society as a whole.

From 1993 onwards, scientific prizes are awarded in the fields of science, applied science, social and economic sciences as well as bio-medical sciences. Candidates are normally nominated by universities, institutions or distinguished individuals.

Selection criteria are the outstanding achievements of the candidates in their given field and completion of their research, their contribution to the cultural, scientific and economic development of Greece and their contribution to the international promotion of Greece through their work and ethics. Candidates are proposed by universities, institutions or distinguished individuals and usually come from the following academic fields: (a) science, (b) bio-medical sciences, (c) applied science / technology, (d) social sciences.

The recipients of the awards accept to assist the Foundation in its activities, if requested to do so in the future, primarily by participating in scientific committees.

In 2021, the Foundation will sponsor a total of four (4) awards, each carrying a prize of twenty thousand (20,000) euros, in the fields of science, bio-medical sciences, applied sciences and social sciences.


 In keeping with the Bodossaki Foundation’s longstanding support of the creative work of young Greek scientists and to reward their commitment and effort to the advancement of science as well as contribute to the promotion of exemplar paradigms for society, the Bodossaki Foundation has established the “Distinguished Young Scientists Awards”, to scholars of greek descent, under the age of 40.

For the year 2021, the Foundation has decided to award four prizes, of  €20,000 each, in the following academic fields:

  1. Science :
  1. Life Sciences :
    Biomedical Sciences.
  1. Applied Science :
    Alternative and  Renewable Energy, Environmental and Natural Resource Management, Low Carbon Technology, Energy Efficiency and Conservation.
  1. Social-Economic Sciences :
    Economic Science, Political Science, Law.

The prizes will be awarded to persons of Greek nationality, parentage or descent.  Only persons born after December 31,1980 are eligible to apply.

Candidates should be nominated by Universities, Institutions or scientists of the same or a senior level in the candidate’s area of expertise or by the Head of a research institution. The candidates’ written consent is required.

Nominations are submitted to the Foundation by e-mail with the following documents to prizes@bodossaki.gr :

  1. Letter of nomination indicating the candidate’scientific field, describing his/her activities and achievements in relation to the field of his/her candidacy and with reference to the nominee’s publications. (There is no specific form).
  2. The candidate’s written consent for his/her nomination.
  3. A full curriculum vitae (please include father’s name, date of birth, tax registration no., D. or passport number, home and work address, tel. no., e-mail address, etc).

The closing date for the submission of applications for the awards is September 30, 2020.

Candidates should request three (3) scientists of their area of expertise (Referees), who are in a position to evaluate their work, to forward letters of recommendation directly by email to the Foundation, no later than October 15, 2020.

The selection of the prizewinners will be based on exceptional achievements in their respective field.

The Foundation may require candidates to submit additional information in connection with their work.

A Selection Committee of specialists in each of the fields of the awards makes its recommendations to the Prize Committee.  The prizewinners are selected by the Board of Trustees, on the basis of the recommendations of the Prize Committee.

Additional information may be obtained from the Bodossaki Foundation, tel. no. Greece:  +30.210.722-3244, e-mail: prizes@bodossaki.gr.

Prize Committee Members and past years’ Award Recipients

Please view the ‘Downloads’ section on the right of this page to download the file with the announcement, the Prize Committee Members and past years’ Award Recipients.