Having treasured the value and potential of the Greek creative spirit, Prodromos-Bodossakis Athanassiades made provision for distinguished Greek academics to be recognized for their scientific achievements. In 1993, in accordance with its founder’s wishes, the Bodossaki Foundation, established the “Awards for scientific excellence”. Through these awards, the Foundation seeks to support the creative work of young Greek scientists up to 40 years of age; to reward their commitment and effort to excel in their scientific field, as well as their dedication to serve as role models for the younger generations and the Greek society as a whole.

From 1993 onwards, scientific prizes are awarded in the fields of science, applied science, social and economic sciences as well as bio-medical sciences. Candidates are normally nominated by universities, institutions or distinguished individuals.

Selection criteria:

  • Outstanding achievements of the candidates in their given field and completion of their research
  • Their contribution to the cultural, scientific and economic development of Greece
  • Their contribution to the international promotion of Greece through their work and ethics

Scientific Awards 2019

The following Greek distinguished young scientists have been awarded with the Bodossaki Scientific Prizes for 2019:

Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for his work in the field of Applied Science
(Computing Systems, Information Technology, Computer Science, Networks and Communications, Generation and Energy Management Systems, Robotics, Electronic Systems).

Associate Professor, University of Minnesota for his work in the field of Social-Economic Sciences
(Economic Science or Political Science or Law).

Associate Professor, Brown University for his work in the field of Social-Economic Sciences
(Economic Science or Political Science or Law).

Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh for his work in the field of Science (Chemistry).

Associate Professor, Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai for his work in the field of Life Sciences
(Biomedical Sciences).

Prize Committee Members 

Please view the ‘Downloads’ section on the right of this page to download the file with the names of the Prize Committee Members.