

Distinguished Young Scientist Awards 2021

Selection Committees

The **Selection Committee** in the field of **Basic Sciences (Mathematics)** consists of the following members:

- **Mihalis Dafermos** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 2008), Professor of Astronomy and Geometry at the University of Cambridge and Professor of Mathematics at the University of Princeton.
- Leonidas Resvanis, Emeritus Professor of Physics, University of Athens.
- **Panagiotis Souganidis** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 1995), Professor of Mathematics, University of Chicago.
- **Athanassios Fokas** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 2006, member of the Prize Committee), Professor at the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge.

The **Selection Committee** in the field of **Life Sciences (Biomedical Sciences) branch of biomedical sciences)** consists of the following members:

- **Ioannis Aifantis** (member of the Prize Committee), Professor of Pathology, NYU School of Medicine.
- **Manolis Dermitzakis** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 2017), Professor at the Department of Genetic Medicine and Development, University of Geneva.
- **George Kollias** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 1993, member of Bodossaki Foundation's Board of Trustees and of the Prize Committee), Member of the Academy of Athens, Professor/Director of the Physiology Laboratory at the Medical School of the University of Athens, and Associate Researcher at the "Alexandros Fleming" Research Centre for Biomedical Sciences.
- **Panagiotis Roussos** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 2019), Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Genetics and Genomic Sciences at the School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Hospital, New York.
- Nektarios Tavernarakis (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 2005), Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas (FORTH), Vice-President of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council (ERC), and Professor at the Medical School of the University of Crete.

The Selection Committee in the field of Applied Sciences / Technology (Alternative and Renewable Energy Sources, Environmental and Natural Resources Management, Low Carbon Emission Technologies, Efficiency and Energy Conservation) consists of the following members:

- **Theodora Varvarigou** (Member of the Foundation's Board of Trustees and of the Prize Committee), Professor at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, National Technical University of Athens.
- **Daniel Mamais,** Professor at the School of Civil Engineering, National Technical University of Athens.
- **Dimitris Bertsimas** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 1997 and member of the Foundation's Board of Trustees), Professor of Operational Research in the Sloan School of Management at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
- **Michalis Triantafyllou** (member of the Prize Committee), Professor of Marine Technology at MIT, Visiting Researcher at the US Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Director of the Center for Ocean Engineering and Director of the Testing Tank Facility and the Propeller Tunnel of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

The **Selection Committee** in the field of **Social Sciences (Economics, Political Science, Law)** is composed of the following members:

- **Costas Azariadis,** Professor of Economics at Washington University in Saint Louis
- **Dimitris Vayanos,** Professor of Finance at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE).
- **Nikos Vettas** (member of the Prize Committee), Professor at the Department of Economics, Athens University of Economics and Business, and Director General of the Foundation for Economic and Industrial Research (IOVE).
- **Pavlos Eleftheriadis** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 2005 and member of the Foundation's Board of Trustees), Professor of Public Law, University of Oxford
- Stathis Kalyvas, Professor of Political Science, University of Oxford
- **Costas Meghir** (Bodossaki Distinguished Young Scientist Award 1996 and member of the Foundation's Board of Trustees and of the Prize Committee), Professor at the Department of Economics of Yale University