Laureates by academic field

Science: Mathematics

The award is presented jointly to:

  • Stefanos Aretakis, Associate Professor of Pure Mathematics at the University of Toronto, for his work in the field of Pure Mathematics and his influence in the area of Relativity Theory. In a series of groundbreaking research works, Stefanos Aretakis mathematically proved the existence of a new instability of the so-called ‘extreme’ Black Holes, which was named ‘Aretakis instability’ and is now the subject of studies in Physics. To find out more about Stefanos Aretakis, see here.
  • Themistocles Sapsis, Professor of Mechanical and Ocean Engineering in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at MIT | Institute for Data, Systems and Society| IDSS) | Center for Computational Science and Engineering (CCSE), for his work in Applied Mathematics and specifically in the study of quantitative uncertainty characteristics for non-linear dynamic systems. His work allows a deep understanding of natural phenomena, such as extreme ocean phenomena, which he approaches using a rigorous mathematical methodology. It is therefore extremely useful in the analysis and prediction of natural ocean phenomena and in the design and safety of various mechanical systems. To find out more about Themistocles Sapsis, see here.

Life Sciences: Biomedical Sciences

The award is presented jointly to:

  • Christos Kyratsous, Senior Vice President of Research at Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc., for his contribution to the treatment of viral diseases such as Ebola and SARS-COV-2 with new powerful medicines, among which a cocktail of antibodies for treating the early stages of infection with SARS-COV-2. To find out more about Christos Kyratsous, see here.
  • Thales Papagiannakopoulos, Associate Professor and Director of the Molecular Oncology and Tumor Immunology Training Program, Department of Pathology at the NYU Grossman School of Medicine, for his scientific work in the field of cancer genome engineering and its metabolism. His approach bridges the gap between cancer biology and immunology. To find out more about Thales Papagiannakopoulos, see here.

Applied Science / Technology: Alternative and Renewable Energy, Environmental and Natural Resources Management, Low Carbon Emission Technologies, Energy Efficiency and Conservation

The award is presented to Antonios Papavassiliou, Assistant Professor at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the National Technical University of Athens, for his contribution to the rational use of energy resources and the large-scale penetration of renewable energy sources in power systems. To find out more about Antonios Papavassiliou, see here.

Social-Economic Sciences: Economics, Political Science, Law

The award is presented to Myrto Kalouptsidi, Associate Professor of Economics at Harvard University, for her innovative research in applied microeconomics and her study of the intersection of Industrial Organization and International Trade. To find out more about Myrto Kalouptsidi, see here.